

January 2014

The purpose of the ICA is to promote international development and collaboration in all fields of acoustics including research, development, education, and standardisation.

## http://www.icacommission.org/

## **Contacts:**

ICAPresident@icacommission.org ICASecGen@icacommission.org ICATreasurer@icacommission.org

## **Board Members**

President Marion Burgess Vice President Jing Tian Past President Michael Vorländer Secretary General Michael Stinson Treasurer Antonio Perez-Lopez Júlio A. Cordioli Brazil Denmark Dorte Hammershøi France Bertrand Dubus Italy Roberto Pompoli Japan Kohei Yamamoto Korea Jeong-Guon Ih Poland Grazyna Grelowska Slovakia Monika Rychtarikova **United Kingdom** Yiu Lam USA Mark Hamilton AES Frank Wells **EAA** Michael Taroudakis FIA Jorge Patricio **ICBEN** Stephen Stansfeld **ICU** Bogumil Linde IIAV J. L. Bento Coelho

Rajendra Singh

Masayuki Morimoto

I-INCE

WESPAC

To all Member Societies and International Affiliates

Please receive best wishes for your organization for the New Year of 2014.

The highlight for the ICA in the year of 2013 was the 21<sup>st</sup> ICA congress in Montreal, Canada. This meeting was jointly organized by the Canadian Acoustical Association and the Acoustical Society of America and there was a record attendance during the 5 day congress with 2300 registrants and over 1600 technical papers presented and 49 Exposition booths. Sincere thanks are due to the excellent planning and organization by the local team around Mike Stinson, Gilles Daigle and Luc Mongeau.

The General Assembly for the ICA was held during this conference. The proposed changes in governance were all accepted and the new board elected under the new The benefit of the new governance was immediately obvious from the number of nominees for the positions on the board. Following the election the Board now comprises Júlio A. Cordioli (Brazil), Dorte Hammershøi (Denmark), Bertrand Dubus (France), Roberto Pompoli (Italy), Kohei Yamamoto (Japan), Jeong-Guon Ih (Korea), Grazyna Grelowska (Poland), Monika Rychtarikova (Slovakia), Yiu Lam (UK) and Mark Hamilton (USA). The executive are Marion Burgess as President, Michael Vorlander as Past President, Jing Tian as Vice President, Mike Stinson as Secretary General and Antonio Perez-Lopez as Treasurer. Those board members retiring at the time of the General Assembly included some who had served many terms in various positions and were all warmly thanked for their contributions to the board and the ICA.

The ICA is continuing to grow with the new members, Israel and Nigeria welcomed at the General Assembly. This took our membership to 47 member organizations and 8 International Affiliates.

Increasing the awareness around the world of the science and technology of sound is an important task for the ICA. The ICA is an Affiliate Member of the global organization for science, the International Council for Science, ICSU as well as Associate Member of International Union for Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) and the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM).

To further increase awareness internationally the ICA is actively working towards an International Year of Sound in 2019. We are pleased to report that Manell Zakharia has accepted to lead a task group to work on achieving this aim. To have an "International Year" status is a very great challenge and the ICA will be seeking the support from all the member societies and international affiliates as the project continues.

A task group, under the leadership of Vice President Jing Tian, has been set up to investigate the fee structure and the communication with members. At the 2013 board meeting there was agreement that information on each of the member societies would be a valuable addition to the ICA web page. The board also agreed to cover the costs of scanning all the old ICA proceedings and make these freely available from the website. As the ICA congress covers all areas of acoustics this will be a valuable record showing the development of acoustics over the decades. We are grateful for the assistance from Jing Tian for organizing this scanning. As soon as this has been completed and the access arrangements finalized we will advise of the link and make it freely available from the ICA webpage.

The ICA encourages acoustic endeavors by providing financial support for international symposia. In 2014 the support will be provided to:

- 6th Congress of the Alps Adria Acoustics Association, Graz, Austria
- XXV Encontrol da Sociedade Brasileira de Acustica (SOBRAC), Campinas, Brazil
- Intl. Symposium on Musical Acoustics 2014, Le Mans, France
- 11th Intl. Congress on Noise as a Public Health Problem (ICBEN 2014), Nara, Japan
- 2nd Intl. Conference of the Acoustical Society of Nigeria (ASON 2014), Nsukka, Nigeria
- XXXI Symposium on Hydroacoustics, Swinoujscie, Poland
- European Symposium on Smart Cities and Environmental Acoustics, Murcia, Spain And in conjunction with the Acoustical Society of America will be supporting
  - 12th School on Acousto-Optics and Applications, Druskininkai, Lithuania

In order to increase the awareness of the ICA, all members are encouraged to identify their involvement with the ICA by including the ICA logo on their webpage and on the documentation for meetings and conferences. This logo is available from: <a href="http://www.icacommission.org/archive/">http://www.icacommission.org/archive/</a>. A poster that can be used for promotional purposes is also available at this site.

Please stay in contact with the ICA Board, particularly with the Secretary General, Mike Stinson, with the Treasurer, Antonio Perez-Lopez, with Vice-President Jing Tian, and with myself. We would be happy to receive your comments and suggestions. And finally, let me wish a Happy and Prosperous New Year 2014 for your organisation.

Marion Burgess President ICA 2013-2016

Canberra, Australia